de-DEen-US

Algarve

The region in the south of Portugal has become the trendy travel destination in recent years! But it's a well-known fact that the best places are where everyone goes. The Algarve is no exception. The coast is particularly famous for its striking orange cliffs and the beautiful beaches and bays where you can relax. Or you can do as the surfers do and enjoy the waves of the Atlantic. Once you've soaked up enough sun, you can stroll through the cute little towns.

30/05/2022

dear(travel)diary,

on our road trip through Spain and Portugal, the Algarve was definitely my favorite destination so far! On the one hand, I fell in love with the region and its beautiful landscapes! The Algarve really is as beautiful as in the pictures, if not more so. On the other hand, we were finally able to really relax in the Algarve.

Admittedly, our road trip route through Spain and Portugal was already pretty ambitious (you can find the route here) and a bit city-heavy, which is why we weren't able to relax well on the previous stages. We were also stressed by the van break-in in Barcelona (read the story here) and haven't been able to digest the event very well so far. We no longer felt so safe in Spain. Especially when we were wild camping, we were constantly afraid that something would happen. As a result, I slept so badly that we could only spend the night at campsites. It was clear to me: I just wanted to go to Portugal. At that moment, I simply associated the country with more safety.

When we arrived in Portugal, I automatically felt relaxed. Our pitch at the Oasis surf camp was also so good that we were finally able to relax. The beautiful beaches of the Algarve then provided that extra point of relaxation. The Algarve will therefore always remain a positive memory for me...

xx Chiara

Overview:


What to see & discover

  1. My personal favorite: Praia dos Tres Irmaos
  2. Probably the most famous cave in the Algarve: Algar de Benagil
  3. One of the most beautiful beaches: Praia da Marinha
  4. Something to marvel at: Ponta da Piedade
  5. Go on a short hike: Algar Seco
  6. The most south-westerly point of the European mainland: Cabo de São Vicente
  7. A little childhood memory: Ponte da Quinta do Lago
  8. Stroll through one of the cute towns: Faro, Albufeira and Lagos
  9. Buy typical, beautiful ceramics: Ceramica Paraiso
  10. Other beautiful beaches: Praia de São Rafael, Praia Nova, Praia de Albandeira, Praia do Camilo and Praia de Vale Figueira


Where to eat

To be honest, I can't really tell you. Because we were traveling by van, we mostly prepared our own food.

We once ate at Well Vale do lobo at Quinta do Lago. The region there is known for its expensive resorts and golf clubs, which is also reflected in the food prices. Lunch was a little more expensive. Because you pay for the ambience here. The Well is also a relaxed beach club with a pool and live music. But the food was delicious.

One spot you should head for is the food truck “The last bratwurst before America”. At Cabo de São Vicente, the most south-westerly point of the European mainland, Germans have set up a stall selling original German bratwurst. If you order one of their sausages, you will even receive a certificate stating that and when you ate the last bratwurst before America.


Where to sleep

We were in the Algarve by van and therefore didn't stay in a hotel or apartment. But perhaps you would also like to travel to Portugal by van or hire one locally, which is why I am presenting our pitches here:

We spent the first night at Faro Campervan Park. The site is a large parking lot for motorhomes and vans and is therefore intended more for people passing through. I wouldn't recommend it for a longer stay, but it was perfectly adequate for one night. Above all, it was very clean!

We spent the remaining nights at the Oasis surf camp. We found it because my brother, his girlfriend and her brother were taking a surf course there at the same time. They told us that we could book a pitch at Oasis even without a surf course. So we headed for the camp so that we could spend some time with the three of them. On arrival, we were thrilled with the pitch! The Oasis has beautiful grounds with a natural pool, a well-equipped gym and a bar with a pool table and more. You can also book meals as an option. We were also able to do our laundry very easily at the camp.


costs

Because we cooked for ourselves, our costs in the Algarve were kept within limits. The pitches were also quite cheap, even though we really had everything we could wish for at the Oasis surf camp!

  • Faro Campervan Park 1 night with showers: 12€
  • Oasis Surfcamp 2 nights: 64€
  • Kayak tour Benagil Cave: 30€/ 15€ p.p.
  • Lunch Well Vale do lobo for 2 people: 56€
  • Last sausage before America: 4€ p.p.
  • Shopping Aldi: 17€
  • Toll: approx. 20€
  • Refueling: 65€



I have put together a list of all the places on Google Maps.

You can find the list here.


From the community for the community

Tips from the community

Do you have a tip for the Algarve? Or a suggestion for the blog? Or would you simply like more information?

Then write me!

de-DEen-US

Algarve

Die Region im Süden Portugals ist in den letzten Jahren das Trendreiseziel geworden! Doch dort, wo es alle hinzieht, ist es bekanntlich am schönsten. Die Algarve ist da keine Ausnahme. Besonders bekannt ist die Küste für ihre markanten, orangenen Felsen sowie die schönen Stände und Buchten, an denen du gut entspannen kannst. Oder du machst es wie die Surfer und kostest die Wellen des Atlantiks aus. Nachdem du genug Sonne getankt hast, kannst du dann durch süße Städtchen bummeln.

30/05/2022

dear(travel)diary,

auf unserem Roadtrip durch Spanien und Portugal war die Algarve bisher definitiv mein Lieblingsziel! Einerseits habe ich mich in die Region mit ihren wunderschönen Landschaften verliebt! Die Algarve ist wahrhaftig so schön wie auf den Bildern, wenn nicht sogar schöner. Andererseits konnten wir an der Algarve endlich so richtig entspannen.

Zugegebenermaßen war unsere Roadtrip-Route durch Spanien und Portugal schon ziemlich ambitioniert (die Route findest du hier) und etwas Städte lastig, weshalb wir auf den vorherigen Etappen nicht gut entspannen konnten. Daneben waren wir durch den Van-Einbruch in Barcelona (zur Story geht es hier) zusätzlich gestresst und konnten das Ereignis bisher nicht so gut verdauen. Wir fühlten uns in Spanien nicht mehr so sicher. Vor allem beim Wildcampen hatten wir ständig Angst, dass was passiert. Dadurch schlief ich so schlecht, dass wir eigentlich nur noch auf Campingplätzen übernachten konnten. Für mich stand fest: Ich möchte einfach nur nach Portugal. Ich habe das Land in dem Moment einfach mit mehr Sicherheit verbunden.

Als wir in Portugal ankamen, setze automatisch ein Gefühl der Entspanntheit bei mir ein. Auch unser Stellplatz im Oasis Surfcamp war so gut, dass wir endlich zur Ruhe kommen konnten. Die schönen Strände der Algarve sorgten dann nochmal für den extra Punkt Entspannung. Die Algarve wird mir daher immer positiv in Erinnerung bleiben...

xx Chiara

Überblick:


Was es zu Erleben gibt

  1. Mein persönlicher Favorit: Praia dos Tres Irmaos
  2. Die wohl bekannteste Höhle der Algarve: Algar de Benagil
  3. Einer der schönsten Strände: Praia da Marinha
  4. Etwas zum Staunen: Ponta da Piedade
  5. Eine kleine Wanderung unternehmen: Algar Seco
  6. Der südwestlichste Punkt des europäischen Festlandes: Cabo de São Vicente
  7. Eine kleine Kindheitserinnerung: Ponte da Quinta do Lago
  8. Durch eine der süßen Städte bummeln: Faro, Albufeira und Lagos
  9. Typische, schöne Keramik kaufen: Ceramica Paraiso
  10. Weitere schöne Strände: Praia de São Rafael, Praia Nova, Praia de Albandeira, Praia do Camilo und Praia de Vale Figueira


Wo du Gut Essen kannst

Kann ich dir ehrlich gesagt gar nicht wirklich sagen. Denn dadurch, dass wir mit dem Van unterwegs waren, haben wir uns unser Essen meist selbst zubereitet.

Wir waren einmal im Well Vale do lobo bei Quinta do Lago essen. Die Region dort ist für teure Resorts und Golfclubs bekannt, was sich auch bei den Essenspreisen widerspiegelt. Das Mittagessen war nämlich etwas teurer. Denn du zahlst hier für das Ambiente. Das Well ist gleichzeitig ein entspannter Beach Club mit Pool und Live-Musik. Das Essen war aber lecker.

Ein Spot, den du ansteuern solltest, ist der Food-Truck "Die letzte Bratwurst vor Amerika". Denn am Cabo de São Vicente, dem südwestlichsten Punkt des europäischen Festlandes, haben sich Deutsche mit einem Stand niedergelassen, an dem es original deutsche Bratwurst gibt. Wenn du dir eine ihrer Würste bestellst, dann erhältst du sogar ein Zertifikat, dass und wann du die letzte Bratwurst vor Amerika verzehrt hast.


Stellplätze

Wir waren mit dem Van an der Algarve und haben daher in keinem Hotel oder Apartment übernachtet. Doch vielleicht möchtest du ja auch mit dem Van nach Portugal oder leihst dir einen vor Ort, weshalb ich dir hier unsere Stellplätze vorstelle:

Die erste Nacht haben wir im Faro Campervan Park verbracht. Der Stellplatz ist ein großer Parkplatz für Wohnmobile und Vans und daher eher für Durchreisende gedacht. Für einen längeren Aufenthalt würde ich ihn nicht empfehlen; für die eine Nacht war er aber total ausreichend. Es war vor allem sehr sauber!

Die restlichen Nächte haben wir im Oasis Surfcamp verbracht. Hier kamen wir drauf, da mein Bruder, seine Freundin und ihr Bruder zeitgleich dort einen Surfkurs belegten. Sie erzählten uns, dass wir bei Oasis auch ohne Surfkurs einen Stellplatz buchen konnten. Damit wir etwas Zeit mit den Dreien verbringen konnten, steuerten wir also das Camp an. Vor Ort waren wir begeistert vom Stellplatz! Das Oasis hat eine wunderschöne Anlage auf der sich neben einem Naturpool ein gut ausgestattetes Fitnessstudio und eine Bar mit Billardtisch und co. befindet. Optional kannst du zudem Essen dazu buchen. Außerdem konnten wir im Camp sehr gut unsere Wäsche waschen.


Kosten

Dadurch, dass wir selbst gekocht haben, haben sich unsere Kosten an der Algarve in Grenzen gehalten. Die Stellplätze waren zudem recht günstig und das, obwohl wir im Oasis Surfcamp wirklich alles hatten, was das Herz begehrt!

  • Faro Campervan Park 1 Nacht mit Duschen: 12€
  • Oasis Surfcamp 2 Nächte: 64€
  • Kajaktour Benagil Cave: 30€/ 15€ p.P.
  • Mittagessen Well Vale do lobo für 2 Personen: 56€
  • Letzte Bratwurst vor Amerika: 4€ p.P.
  • Einkauf Aldi: 17€
  • Maut: ca. 20€
  • Tanken: 65€



Ich habe dir eine Liste mit allen Orten auf Google Maps zusammengestellt.

Die Liste findest du hier.


Von der Community für die Community

Tipps der Community

Du hast einen Tipp für die Algarve? Oder eine Anregung für den Blog? Oder möchtest du einfach noch mehr Infos? 

Dann schreib mir!